May News

Niton and Whitwell Parish Council held its Annual Meeting on Monday 15th May at the Edward Edwards Library, Niton. Councillor Jon Boileau Goad was elected as Chairman for a second year. He welcomed six candidates for co-option to fill the four vacancies following the May election, inviting them to give a 3-minute presentation on why they should be part of “the team”. Mr Tim Addison, Mr Simon Biles, Mrs Sherlie Burridge and Mrs Janice Young were subsequently co-opted and Councillor Tim Addison was elected as Vice Chairman. Councillor Sherlie Burridge was elected as Chairman of the Planning Committee. A full list of Parish Council members and contact details is available here.

Working its way through a long list of annual reviews together with the other regular monthly items on the agenda, the Parish Council approved the Statement of Accounts section of the Annual Return. The annual audit process can now progress to submission of the fully completed Annual Return to our external auditors, BDO LLP. For 30 working days starting on 20th June, you may exercise your public right to inspect the accounts, ask the external auditor questions or object to an item of account. Full details of how to do this and a summary of electors’ rights are available here.

Details of surfacing improvement schemes for NT103 Stockbridge, NT18 Allotment Road, NT17 Kemming Road to Ashknowle Lane (“Church Lane”) and NT13 Berryl, received from the Isle of Wight Council Rights of Way department, were considered. Councillors requested a site meeting with a representative of Rights of Way so that all options could be discussed. As you may be aware, all of these footpaths/bridleways are very muddy in wet weather and improvements to their surfaces are badly needed to allow year-round access.

Niton WI was awarded a £50 grant towards the maintenance of the Niton village flower beds. Our thanks to the WI members for all the hard work to keep the flower beds looking beautiful.

Vickie Ford, Parish Clerk